Spotlight: Ladureé Ladureé

Another birthday has come and gone and would not have been complete without a box of Ladureé macarons. The decorative packaging, the prestige surrounding the lauded French establishment, the beauty of the colorful cookies…and did I mention the taste?

IMG_6273 _SnapseedThe chocolate macaron manages to be light and fudgy, the pistachio is nutty, the caramel rich and decadent, and the raspberry sweet and tart, the filling scattered with seeds. The Marie Antoinette perplexed me with the robin’s egg-blue hue and difficult to distinguish flavor profile. A bit of Googling helped me determine it is traditionally black tea and honey, but unfortunately the treat was long-gone by the time of this discovery.

An added perk for receiving such a gift for my birthday? I didn’t have to wait in the (historically long) line, though it is a dream to make it to the original location in Paris. In the meantime, I will stick to visiting one of the New York locations…or wait until next year when the next box will magically appear on my desk.

Until next time,
SugarSource

Leave a comment