Dear SugarSource: My Cake is Stuck!

IMG_2876Dear SugarSource,
I thought I properly greased my cake pans, but it turns out I must have missed several spots. I can’t get my cake out! Are they ruined, or is there something I can do?

Sincerely,
Stuck Baker

Dear Stuck Baker,
The good news is that there are a few steps you can take to try to mitigate the damage! After the cake has cooled for about an hour, pop it into the freezer. It is less likely to crumble or fall apart as you work it out of the pan when it’s cold.

After about six hours (or overnight), use a butter knife to loosen the cake around the edges. Hovering over a cutting board, flip the pan over and tap on the bottom. If it does not slip out, use forks to dislodge the cake’s edges, moving toward the center. Once it has been fully removed, let the cake defrost for a few hours before proceeding to frosting or decorating.

To avoid in the future, use a pastry brush to effectively coat all of the nooks and crannies of your pans with (very soft) butter. Good luck!

Until next time,
SugarSource

Leave a comment