Dear Sugar Source: Second Life For Cake?

IMG_2876Dear Sugar Source,

I made chocolate cupcakes for a birthday party and though many were consumed, I still have 8-10 left! Is there anything I can make with the leftover treats? It seems like they are drying out by the day.

Sincerely,
Fellow dessert lover

Great question, Fellow Dessert Lover!

There is one very easy solution to dealing with leftover cake – cake balls! These little bite-sized treats remain a crowd pleaser time and time again. Steps below!

IMG_6317 _SnapseedStep One: Unwrap the leftover cupcakes and crumble. If the cupcakes were previously frosted, you will want to make sure you break up those clumps for an even consistency. In this example, I had made my favorite chocolate cake recipe a few days prior.

Step Two: Mix in frosting. Depending on the number of treats remaining, you will need to eyeball the amount. If you bake a traditional sheet cake, it will take an entire can of frosting. Here, I had about 9 leftover cupcakes and delivered several hefty dollops of frosting (store-bought, I have to admit). This is really what you are using to bind the crumbled cake together. You will want the final product to be malleable, not crumbly, but not too wet either or it won’t set!

Step Three: Freeze (24 hours should do the trick).

Step Four: Dip! You can choose to dip in candy coating, chocolate, whatever your preference. While still drying, you can top (sprinkles or sugar are my go-tos). Here I used the chocolate ganache featured in my favorite chocolate cake recipe.

Step Five: Freeze again! You want to ensure the coating solidifies, or you will have very melty treats on your hands (literally).IMG_6340_2 _Snapseed

Step Six: Serve and enjoy! One word of warning: the hotter the temperature, the messier these tiny treats will become.

Until next time and Happy Father’s Day,
SugarSource

Leave a comment