Recipe: Seven-Minute Frosting, Stand Mixer Edition

img_8526-_snapseed

Initial texture of the frosting

When making my grandmother’s sugar cookie recipe, I knew I had a potentially daunting task to complete the treats as she had traditionally prepared them – making seven-minute frosting. As someone who does not own a hand-mixer, I found this particularly challenging until I discovered a hack from Food.com, which I am sharing here with a tweak or two!

Ingredients
–  3/4 c. sugar  – 1 tsp vanilla extract  – 1/4 tsp cream of tartar  – 3 egg whites  – 1/4 c water

Directions
Combine the granulated sugar, vanilla, cream of tartar and egg whites. Add in 1/4 cup boiling water – I used a tea kettle and quickly measured out the necessary amount in a Pyrex liquid measuring cup – and beat for 7-9 minutes.

img_8516-_snapseed

A bit of “bubbling”

I found this recipe made more than enough icing to properly frost a batch of cookies.

One note: while it was very pliable and shiny at the beginning, small bubbles seemed to develop over time and the shine disappeared. If anyone has tips on how to ensure this doesn’t happen – such as occasionally rebeating – I am open to suggestions!

Until next time,
SugarSource

Leave a comment